541.238.9210
Central Oregon's Premier Law Firm

DUI Penalties

Oregon DUI Penalties

Let Our Bend DUI Attorney Protect Your Rights & Future

Getting a DUI/DUII can be a frightening and stressful experience. Even if it is your first time, you may face severe penalties such as jail time, fines, license suspension, and a permanent mark on your criminal record. Since a DUI can potentially ruin your personal and professional reputation, having an experienced attorney on your side can make a positive impact.

At Baxter Harder, LLC, we are committed to helping you either get your entire case dismissed or your charges reduced significantly. As a former prosecutor, our Bend criminal defense attorney possesses the extensive knowledge of Oregon law to guide you through the intricacies of the criminal justice system and anticipate how the prosecution will approach your case.

First-Time DUI Penalties

For first-time DUI offenders, they will be eligible for the DUII Diversion Program. This program enables first-timers to get their cases dismissed and avoid serving jail time in exchange for participating in various alcohol/drug treatment programs.

  • If not eligible, however, the person is subject to the following penalties:
  • Maximum jail sentence of one year
  • Minimum of two days in jail or 80 hours of community service
  • Over 18 months of probation
  • License suspension for one year
  • Minimum fine of $1,000 ($2,000 if BAC is over 0.15% or greater)
  • Attend Victim Impact Panel
  • Alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Complete any required alcohol/drug treatment

Second-Time DUI Penalties

  • The following are the penalties for a second-time DUI conviction:
  • Maximum jail term of one year
  • Minimum jail sentence of two to 30 days or 80 hours of community service
  • More than 18 months of probation
  • Minimum fine of $1,500 ($2,000 if BAC is over 0.15% or greater)
  • License suspension between one year and three years
  • Attend Victim Impact Panel
  • Alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Complete any required alcohol/drug treatment

Third-Time DUI Penalties – Misdemeanor Conviction

In order to be charged with a misdemeanor for a third-time DUI offense, you cannot have no more than one prior DUI conviction within the past 10 years. In addition, you cannot have any prior felony DUI convictions.

  • The following are the penalties for a third-time DUI misdemeanor conviction:
  • Maximum jail term of one year
  • Minimum jail sentence between two to 180 days or 80 hours of community service
  • More than 18 months of probation
  • Minimum fine of $2,000
  • Maximum fine of up to $6,250
  • Lifetime license revocation
  • Attend Victim Impact Panel
  • Alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Complete any required alcohol/drug treatment

Third-Time DUI Penalties – Felony Conviction

In order to be charged with a felony for a third-time DUI offense, you need to have two prior DUI convictions or more within the past 10 years. Furthermore, you need to have a prior felony DUI conviction.

  • The following are the penalties for a third-time DUI felony conviction:
  • Maximum prison sentence of five years
  • Minimum jail sentence of 90 days with the possibility of prison time
  • Minimum fine of $2,000
  • Maximum fine of $125,000
  • Lifetime license revocation
  • Attend Victim Impact Panel
  • Alcohol/drug evaluation
  • Complete any required alcohol/drug treatment

If you were recently arrested for a DUI in Oregon, request a free consultation with our Bend DUI Lawyers at Baxter Harder today.

Honors & Associations

A Legacy of Quality Services

  • Avvo Client's Choice
  • Avvo Rating Superb
  • Top 40 Under 40
  • 10 Best 2016
  • Ben Attorney Group
  • OCDLA
  • American Institute of Criminal Law Attorneys
  • Member DUI Defense

Schedule a Free Confidential Consultation.

Contact Us Today!

Let our firm handle your matter while you focus on your life. Fill out our secure online form to contact Baxter Harder, LLC today.

  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.