Bend Domestic Violence Lawyer
Oregon Domestic Violence Laws
In the heat of an argument between two people, many find themselves charged for domestic violence while emotions are running high. These accusations can often be false and are the result of raised tempters or misunderstandings. Unfortunately, being innocent doesn't always mean you won't be found guilty.
Our Bend domestic violence attorney offers a free case evaluation to help you get started. We'll discuss your case with you, review the details, and let you know how we can help. We get started immediately on investigating and building a defense. Your rights are our main concern and our goal is to gain you a favorable resolution.
What Is Considered to Be Domestic Violence in Oregon?
In Oregon, there is no one single crime that is considered to be “domestic violence”; rather, “domestic violence” is a term used to describe any number of crimes committed against a family or household member.
Below are different types of crimes that can be considered domestic violence:
- Verbal abuse
- Physical abuse
- Sexual abuse
- Threatening behavior
- Psychological abuse
- Emotional abuse
What Is the Statute of Limitations in Oregon for Domestic Violence?
The statute of limitations in Oregon depends on a number of factors such as the type and severity of the crime committed as well as the ages of the people involved.
For example, the statute of limitations for criminal mistreatment in the first degree (a class B felony) can be one of three options:
- 6 years after the crime occurred
- 12 years after the offense is first reported to law enforcement
- Anytime until the victim turns 30, if they were under the age of 18 when the crime was committed
If you were involved in a domestic violence dispute, turn to Baxter Harder, LLC. Our domestic violence attorneys are here to protect your rights and best interests.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in OR
The penalties for a domestic violence conviction in Oregon can be significant and they include the following:
- Menacing: Class A misdemeanor, fines of $6250 and 364 days in jail.
- Stalking: Class A misdemeanor, fines of $6250 and 364 days in jail.
- 4th Degree Assault: Class A, fines of $6250 and 364 days in jail.
- 3rd Degree Assault: Class C, fines of $125,000 and up to five years in prison.
- 2nd Degree Assault: Class B, fines of $250,000 and up to 10 years in prison.
- 1st Degree Assault: Class A, fines of $375,000 and up to 20 years in prison.
In addition to the penalties listed above, a conviction for domestic violence can continue to penalize you such as by coming up in a background check for a job or when seeking housing. Fight allegations of abuse today with the help of Bend domestic violence Attorney Casey Baxter. He has been highly recognized for his legal capabilities in and out the courtroom, including accolades such as 10 Best 2015 & 2016, and an Avvo Superb Top Attorney in Criminal Defense, Top 40 Under 40, and Avvo Client’s Choice in 2016 and 2017 for Criminal Defense. Don't let a disagreement turn into a criminal record.
Over 60+ Years of Combined Experience
Work With an Experienced Former Deputy District Attorney at the Firm
Extensive Trial Experience
We Can Handle Complex Cases in Criminal, Civil, & Family Law
Highly Personalized Representation
Free or Low-Cost Consultations
Google's Highest Rated Law Firm East of The Cascades
When you choose our team of experienced lawyers, we will take the time to listen to your needs and remain focused on that as we proceed with your case. We have the knowledge, skills, and resources to provide the quality defense you need.