ATTENTION: DUE TO COVID-19, PHONE CONSULTATIONS ARE AVAILABLE TO ALL POTENTIAL CLIENTS AND CURRENT CLIENTS THAT PREFER NOT HAVE MEETINGS ONSITE. PLEASE DON’T HESITATE TO CALL US IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS! FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CHECK OUT OUR RECENT BLOG.

Bend's Choice for Criminal & Civil Law
DUII FAQ Protecting The Things That Matter Most

Oregon DUII FAQ

Discuss Your Legal Options with Our Bend DUII Attorneys

At Baxter Harder, LLC, we understand how frustrating and emotionally overwhelming getting a DUII can be. Whether it is your first time or your fourth time being charged with a DUII in Oregon, our Bend DUII lawyers can thoroughly evaluate your case and determine all of your legal options in order to help you obtain the most favorable results possible. Our goal is to either get your entire case dismissed or your charges reduced significantly.

The following are several of the most frequently asked questions we have received from our clients. While the questions and answers in the DUI FAQ are meant to be informative, there is absolutely no substitute for hiring an experienced criminal defense attorney.

What Should I Do After Being Arrested or Charged with DUII in OR?

Since there are serious decisions which need to be made early on in the case, one of the most important steps to take is to immediately reach out to a lawyer familiar with DUII cases. For example, you only have a limited amount of time after your arrest/citation to prevent your driver’s license from being suspended. You must avoid talking about the facts of the case with law enforcement officials until you’ve had an opportunity to speak your attorney.

What are the Penalties for an Oregon DUII?

The penalties for a DUII in Oregon depend on how many times you’ve been charged with or convicted of this criminal offense. For a misdemeanor DUII, it is punishable by 364 days in jail and fines of up to $6,250. An individual can be charged with a felony DUII based on their prior DUII convictions. For a more closely look at the penalties, check out our DUII Penalties page.

What Happens If I Refuse to Take a DUII Blood or Breath Test?

According to Oregon's implied consent law, if you drive a vehicle on public property, you have given your consent to have a test taken of your blood or breath. So if you refuse a DUII chemical test after being arrested for a DUII, you will face a mandatory loss of your driver’s license for one year. Fortunately, you are entitled to an administrative hearing or DMV hearing in order to regain your driving privileges.

Can I Receive a DUII for Being Under the Influence of Drugs?

An individual can still be charged with a DUII in Oregon if the person is impaired by illegal drugs, prescribed drugs, and over-the-counter drugs. Controlled substances can severely impair a person’s ability to operate the vehicle, similarly to alcohol.

What Should I Look for When Choosing a DUII Lawyer?

It is imperative that your feel comfortable speaking with an attorney, that the attorney is interested in your case, and that the attorney respects the trust you have given him or her as your law counsel. Keep in mind, DUII cases are complex. Look for a lawyer with actual experience in litigating DUII charges and successful results from similar cases.

Is it harmful to not hire a DUII lawyer?

It can be very harmful to your DUII case outcome if you do not hire a lawyer. While hiring a professional is not 100% necessary or required, it may be in your best interest as they will be able to provide the knowledge, stability, consistency, strategy, and many other qualities that are required to win a DUII case.

Will My License Be Suspended If I Get a DUII?

If you refuse to take a chemical test OR fail the chemical test that you take, your license may very well be suspended as the DMV sees fit.

How Can I Tell That My Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is Low Enough to Drive?

Although alcohol enters and exits each individual’s body at different rates, there are a few ways to ensure your BAC is not over the legal driving limit. It is important to know the BAC of what you are drinking, stay hydrated with water, eat absorbent foods (breads, pastas, etc.), as well as know when to stop drinking if you have intentions to drive. It is better to be safe than sorry when it comes to BAC for your safety and the safety of others.

Request a free consultation with Baxter Harder, LLC to discuss your legal options today.

Benefits of Baxter Harder

Reasons to Choose Us
  • Over 60+ Years of Combined Experience
  • Former Elected and Deputy District Attorneys at the Firm
  • Extensive Trial Experience
  • We Can Handle Complex Cases in Criminal, Civil, & Family Law
  • Highly Personalized Representation
  • Free or Low-Cost Consultations
Protecting Your Best Interest

When you choose our team of experienced lawyers, we will take the time to listen to your needs and remain focused on that as we proceed with your case. We have the knowledge, skills, and resources to provide the quality defense you need.

Start Your Defense Now

Schedule a Free Consultation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.

Recent Victories

Because Results Matter
  • Reduction to a Violation Assault in the Fourth Degree
  • Case Dismissed Assault in the Fourth Degree
  • Case Dismissed Ballot Measure 11 Assault in the Second Degree
  • No Jail Time Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants
  • Warrant Cleared Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants
  • Case Dismissed Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants and Unlawful Possession of Cocaine
  • Felony Reduced to Misdemeanor Felony Driving While Suspended or Revoked
  • Felony Reduced to Misdemeanor Felony Identity Theft
  • Case Dismissed Reckless Driving and Felony Elude
  • Case Dismissed Sex Abuse
/