Getting married requires a binding agreement between two individuals who are committing to taking each other as spouses. For marriage to take place in Oregon, the parties will need to apply for a license from the county clerk’s office. The license will last for 60 days, during which time a marriage ceremony will occur.
During the ceremony, each party will have to declare in front of the person officiating the wedding and two witnesses must agree that this occurred. This may be a complicated area of the law to understand and our Bend family law attorneys are available to help you through the process.
Couples, who do not wish to marry but share a life together, can get in a domestic partnership. The state of Oregon recognizes unregistered domestic partnerships of heterosexual or homosexual couples. This is when the partnership includes shared assets, income, or debts during the relationship.
Registered domestic partnerships also exist in Oregon. This is obtained through an agreement between two parties who are a minimum of 18 years old. No marriage ceremony of any kind is required for the parties to enter this binding contract. They must simply file a signed and notarized declaration of domestic partnership with the county clerk.
If you are in a relationship with a same-sex partner and ready to pursue marriage or a domestic partnership, we can help walk you through the process to fulfill the state’s requirements. Unmarried partners of the opposite sex may be qualified to obtain a Dissolution of Domestic Partnership in some cases.
Domestic partnerships do not confer all rights and responsibilities that are available in a marriage. They do, however, offer the following rights:
Domestic partnerships and marriage are relatively similar in the state. If you need trustworthy assistance handling your family law case or need knowledgeable guidance to take the next step, speak to us at once. As your Bend family law lawyer, we can help you make the right choice and guide you through the process. Call us today!